National Oil & Lube News

May 2017

Digital issues of National Oil & Lube News, the trade magazine for the preventive maintenance industry

Issue link: http://noln.uberflip.com/i/815973

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 83

8 NOLN | www.noln.net An Educated Customer is a Better Customer LETTER FROM THE PUBLISHER Published twelve times a year (along with an additional Buyers Guide) by TKO Multimedia 2345 50th St., Lubbock, TX 79412-2336. Postage Paid at Shepherdsville, KY. Postmaster: Send address changes to National Oil & Lube News, 2345 50th St., Lubbock, TX 79412. Editorial Information: info@noln.net. Annual subscription rate to U.S. destinations is $39. Subscriptions to Canada and Mexico are $70. All other foreign destinations are $130 for postage. Prepayment is required on all foreign orders, paid in U.S. funds. ©Copyright National Oil & Lube News 2017. Reproduction is allowed only with permission of publisher. Views expressed by columnists and guest writers do not imply National Oil & Lube News endorsement. Every attempt is made to provide accurate and reliable information described or offered herein, nor can NOLN verify accuracy of advertising claims made herein. The purpose of NOLN is to open an active line of communication between lube shop owners and managers and to provide a link between lube shops, manufacturers and suppliers throughout the country. Authors — We welcome editorial proposals and submissions. Contact Tammy Neal for more information. Advertisers — Advertising rates are available upon request. Please contact Eli Torres for display advertising deadlines, Internet advertising and other information. Contact Nikki Held for classified advertising information. Publisher Steve Hurt steveh@stevehurt.com Chief Operating Officer Ragan Holt ragan.holt@noln.net Senior Director, Creative Team Tammy Neal tammy.neal@noln.net Senior Director, Sales & Marketing Eliseo Torres eliseo.torres@noln.net Senior Director, Business Operations Sheila Beam sheila.beam@noln.net Creative Team, Digital Communications Kelsey Carlson kelsey.carlson@noln.net Creative Team, Graphic Design Eric Cisneros eric.cisneros@noln.net Circulation Nikki Held nikki.held@noln.net Advertising Sales & Marketing Brian Ashley brian.ashley@noln.net Advertising Sales & Marketing Travis Cargile travis.cargile@noln.net May 2017 Volume 32 s Number 5 ISSN 1071-1260 All correspondence and inquiries should be directed to our business offices: 2345 50th St. Lubbock, TX 79412 Phone: 800.796.2577 or 806.762.4464 William Lynott Peter Suciu Tiffany Fowler CONTRIBUTING WRITERS WEBSITE DEVELOPER q q If there is one thing we can all agree on, it's the idea that an educated customer is a better customer. I know several of our vendors preach this message every- where they go, and they should. If we can all agree an educated customer is a better customer, then an area we need to improve upon is doing a better job of educating our customers on the importance of additives. e manufacturers of the additives available in our industry spend a fortune in research and development to create additives that will add performance and add to our customers' engine life. But for some reason, the additive manufacturers are the victims of a lot of misrepresentation. I think as professional installers we need to stand up to all the misinformation and do a better job of educating our customers. Normally, I do not like to use this space to preach to the masses, but as the information source for the quick service industry, sometimes you have to do what needs to be done. Tammy Neal, NOLN editor, and her team have once again done an outstanding job on our 2017 additives guide issue. Now, as an industry, we need to get the information and start spreading the word. Every additives company has material available to help you understand why these additives are important, and most of these companies even have training curriculum available to assist you in educating your staff so they can educate your customers. In other news, have you seen NOLN's latest blog posting? Kelsey Carlson tells some hilarious April Fools stories from around the industry. As you know, we spend eight to ten hours a day together in our shops, and some- times our crews get creative with each other, which can turn into funny situations. Read the latest posting at www.noln.net and click on the blog dropdown. By the way, have you seen our new website? It looks great thanks to Tiffany Fowler, who spent hours and hours restructuring and launching the site. If you have questions or comments email us at info@noln.net we always enjoy hearing from you. Until next month, keep on lubin'! S Steve Hurt is the publisher of National Oil & Lube News.

Articles in this issue

view archives of National Oil & Lube News - May 2017